Apr 22, 2024  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalogue 
    
2023-2024 Graduate Catalogue

University Calendar


The UNCW graduate catalogue includes a calendar for the current academic year and a tentative calendar for the following year. All calendars are subject to change and will be updated online as necessary. The 2024-2025 calendar will not be official until published in the 2024-2025 online catalogue. Please refer to the links provided at the beginning of each calendar for specific information related to registration, student accounts, and important dates and deadlines, including OAP dates.

 

 

University Calendar 2023- 2024

Fall 2023

Registration:  https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts: https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

August 14, Monday - December 16, Saturday Semester Begins - Commencement
August 23, Wednesday - December 6, Wednesday Classes Start - End
   
August 14, Monday Fall Semester and Academic Year begins
August 21, Monday Convocation
August 23, Wednesday First day of classes
August 30, Wednesday Last day to drop or add a class
September 4, Monday No classes (University holiday)
September 14, Thursday Fall Faculty Meeting
October 12-14, Thursday-Sunday No classes (Fall Break)
October 24, Tuesday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
November 13, Monday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
November 22, Wednesday No classes; University open
November 23-25, Thursday-Saturday No classes (University holiday)
December 5, Tuesday Thursday classes meet
December 6, Wednesday Friday classes meet
December 7, Thursday Reading Day
December 8-14, Friday-Thursday Final examinations (see exam schedule)
December 16, Saturday Commencement
December 18, Monday Fall semester ends

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.

 

Spring 2024

Registration: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts:  https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

January 2 - May 10-11 Semester Begins - Commencement
January 10 - April 29 Classes Start - End
   
January 1, Monday New Year’s Day holiday
January 2, Wednesday University opens; first day of contract for 9-month faculty employment
January 10, Wednesday First day of classes
January 15, Monday No classes (University holiday)
January 18, Thursday Last day to drop or add a class
March 2-10, Saturday-Sunday No classes (Spring Break)
March 15, Friday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
March 28, Thursday No classes; University open
March 29, Friday No classes (University holiday)
April 8, Monday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
April 29, Monday Last day of classes
April 30, Tuesday Reading Day
May 1-7, Wednesday-Tuesday Final examinations (see exam schedule)
May 10-11, Friday-Saturday Commencement
May 13, Monday Academic Year and Spring semester ends

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.

 

Summer 2024

Registration: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts:  https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

May 20 - June 18 Summer 1 Classes Start - End
June 25 - July 24 Summer 2 Classes Start - End
   
May 20, Monday Summer 1 - First day of classes
May 21, Tuesday Last day to register and drop or add a class
May 27, Monday No classes (University holiday)
June 5, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
June 11, Tuesday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
June 18, Tuesday Last day of classes
June 19, Wednesday Final examinations
June 25, Tuesday Summer 2-First day of classes
June 26, Wednesday Last day to register and drop or add a class
July 4, Thursday No classes (University holiday)
July 11, Thursday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
July 17, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
July 24, Wednesday Last day of classes
July 25, Thursday Final examinations (see exam schedule)

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.

Fall 2024

Registration: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts: https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

August 12, Monday - December 16, Monday Semester Begins-Commencement
August 21, Wednesday - December 4, Wednesday Classes Start-End
   
August 12, Monday Academic Year and Fall semester begins
August 19, Monday Convocation
August 21, Wednesday First day of classes
August 28, Wednesday Last day to drop or add a class
September 2, Monday No classes (University holiday)
September 4, Wednesday Census Day
September 12, Thursday Fall Faculty Meeting
October 10-12, Thursday-Saturday No classes (Fall Break)
October 22, Tuesday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
November 11, Monday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
November 27, Wednesday No classes; University open
November 28-30, Thursday-Saturday No classes (University holiday)
December 3, Tuesday Thursday classes meet
December 4, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 5, Thursday Reading Day
December 6-12, Friday-Thursday Final examinations (see exam schedule)
December 13-14, Friday-Saturday Commencement
December 16, Monday
Fall semester ends

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.

Spring 2025

Registration: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts: https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

January 3, Friday - May 12, Monday Semester Begins - Commencement
January 13, Monday - April 20, Wednesday Classes Start - End
   
January 1, Wednesday University holiday
January 2, Thursday University opens
January 3, Friday Spring semester begins
January 13, Monday First day of classes
January 20, Monday No classes (University holiday)
January 21, Tuesday Last day to drop or add a class
January 27, Monday Census Day
March 1-9, Saturday-Sunday No classes (Spring break)
March 19, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
April 2, Wednesday Spring Faculty Meeting
April 8, Tuesday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
April 17, Thursday No classes; University open
April 18, Friday No classes (University holiday)
April 29, Tuesday Thursday classes meet
April 30, Wednesday Friday classes meet
May 1, Thursday Reading Day
May 2-8, Friday-Thursday Final examinations (see exam schedule)
May 9-10, Friday-Saturday Commencement
May 12, Monday Academic Year and Spring semester ends

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.

Summer 2025

Registration: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/students/registration/
Student Accounts: https://uncw.edu/seahawk-life/money-matters/student-accounts-cashiers-office/student-accounts/
Important Dates and Deadlines, including OAP: https://uncw.edu/myuncw/academics/registrar/dates-deadlines

May 19, Monday - June 17, Tuesday Summer 1-Classes start - end
June 25, Wednesday - July 23, Wednesday Summer 2 -Classes start - end
   
May 19, Monday Summer 1-First day of classes
May 20, Tuesday Last day to register and drop or add a class
May 26, Monday No classes (University holiday)
June 4, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
June 10, Tuesday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
June 17, Tuesday Last day of classes
June 18, Wednesday Final examinations 
June 25, Wednesday Summer 2-First day of classes
June 26, Thursday  Last day to register and drop or add a class
July 4, Friday No classes (University holiday)
July 10, Thursday Last day to withdraw with a W - undergraduate students
July 26, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
July 23, Wednesday Last day of classes
July 24, Thursday Final examinations (see exam schedule)

Note: Every course offered for academic credit during fall and spring semesters adheres to the standard of a minimum of 750 scheduled minutes of instructional time or the equivalent per credit hour (taken from UNCW Policy Manual Chapter 400.1.6); for example, a three credit course requires a minimum of 2250 instructional minutes excluding breaks and including final exam time.