The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of North Carolina Wilmington
   
 
  Sep 19, 2017
 
 
    
2015-2016 Graduate Catalogue Archived Catalogue

University Calendar


The UNCW graduate catalogue includes a calendar for the current academic year and a tentative calendar for the following two years. All calendars are subject to change, especially the tentative calendars, and will be updated online as necessary. The 2015-2016 and the 2016-17 calendars will not be official until published in the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 online catalogues, respectively.


 

University Calendar 2015-2016

Fall Semester, 2015

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

August 10, Monday Academic year begins
August 12-13, Wednesday-Thursday Transfer orientation and advising
August 15, Saturday On-campus housing opens for new and transfer students only at 8 a.m.
August 16-17, Sunday-Monday Freshman Orientation and advising
August 17, Monday On-campus housing opens for returning students 10 a.m.
August 17, Monday Convocation
August 19, Wednesday Classes begin
August 26, Wednesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
August 27, Thursday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement
September 1, Tuesday UNC census day
September 7, Monday Labor Day state holiday; no classes
September 10, Thursday Fall Faculty meeting
September 11-14, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
October 7, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with a W – undergraduate students
October 9-12, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
October 12-13, Monday-Tuesday Fall break; no classes
October 14, Wednesday Classes resume 8 a.m.
October 16, Friday Graduation Application Deadline – Fall 2015 – undergraduate students
November 6, Friday Last day to withdraw with a W – graduate students
November 25, Wednesday No classes
November 26-27, Thursday-Friday Thanksgiving state holiday; no classes
November 30, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
December 2, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 3, Thursday Reading Day
December 4-5, Friday-Saturday Final Examinations
December 7-10, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations
December 11, Friday Fall semester ends
December 12, Saturday Commencement
December 13, Sunday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
December 24-31, Thursday-Thursday University closed
   

Spring Semester, 2016

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

January 1, Friday New Year’s Day, University closed
January 4, Monday Spring semester begins
January 6, Wednesday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
January 7-8, Thursday-Friday Orientation and advising
January 11, Monday Classes begin
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. state holiday; no classes.
January 19, Tuesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
January 20, Wednesday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement
January 25, Monday UNC census day
February 26, Friday Last day to withdraw with a W – undergraduate students
March 4, Friday Graduation Application Deadline – Spring 2016 – undergraduate students
March 4-7, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
March 5, Saturday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
March 5-13, Saturday-Sunday Spring Break; no classes
March 14, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
March 24, Thursday No classes
March 25, Friday Good Friday state holiday; no classes
March 28, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
April 1, Friday Last day to withdraw with W - graduate students
April 12, Tuesday Graduation application deadline – undergraduate and graduate students
April 12, Tuesday Spring Faculty meeting
April 27, Wednesday Last day of classes
April 28, Thursday Reading Day
April 29-30, Friday-Saturday Final Examinations
May 2-5, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations
May 5, Thursday Spring semester ends
May 6-7, Friday-Saturday Commencement
May 7, Saturday Academic year ends
May 8, Sunday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
   

Summer 2016

Summer Session I, 2016

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

May 11, Wednesday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
May 11-12, Wednesday-Thursday Transfer orientation and advising
May 16, Monday Classes begin
May 17, Tuesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
May 17, Tuesday UNC census day
May 18, Wednesday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement.
May 30, Monday Memorial Day state holiday; no classes
June 1, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with W – undergraduate students
June 3-6, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
June 6, Monday Last day to withdraw with W – graduate students
June 14, Tuesday Last day of classes
June 15, Wednesday Reading Day
June 16, Thursday Final examinations/Term ends
June 17, Friday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.


Summer Session II, 2016

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

June 19, Sunday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
June 20, Monday Classes begin
June 21, Tuesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
June 21, Tuesday UNC census day
June 22, Wednesday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement.
June 24, Friday Graduation Application Deadline – Summer 2016 – undergraduate students
July 4, Monday Independence Day state holiday; no classes
July 8, Friday Last day to withdraw with W – undergraduate students
July 15, Friday Last day to withdraw with W – graduate students
July 19, Tuesday Last day of classes
July 20, Wednesday Reading Day
July 21, Thursday Final examinations/Term ends
July 22, Friday On-campus Housing closes at 10 a.m.
   

University Calendar 2016-2017

Fall Semester, 2016

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

August 8, Monday Academic year begins
August 11-12, Thursday-Friday Transfer orientation and advising
August 13, Saturday On-campus housing opens for new and transfer students only at 8 a.m.
August 14-15, Sunday-Monday Freshman Orientation and advising
August 15, Monday On-campus housing opens for returning students 10 a.m.
August 15, Monday Convocation
August 17, Wednesday Classes begin
August 24, Wednesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
August 26, Thursday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement
August 30, Tuesday UNC census day
September 2-5, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
September 5, Monday Labor Day state holiday; no classes
September 6, Tuesday Fall Faculty meeting
September 15, Thursday Graduation Application Deadline – Fall 2016 – graduate students
October 6-7, Thursday-Friday Fall break; no classes
October 7-10, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
October 10, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
October 10, Monday Last day to withdraw with a W – undergraduate students
November 10, Thursday Last day to withdraw with a W – graduate students
November 11, Friday Graduation Application Deadline – Spring 2017 – undergraduate students
November 23, Wednesday No classes
November 24-25, Thursday-Friday Thanksgiving state holiday; no classes
November 28, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
November 30, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 1, Thursday Reading Day
December 2-3, Friday-Saturday Final Examinations
December 5-8, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations
December  8, Thursday Fall semester ends
December 10, Saturday Commencement
December 11, Sunday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
December 23-31, Friday-Saturday University closed
   

Spring Semester, 2017

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

January 2, Monday New Year’s Day, state holiday
January 3, Tuesday University Opens
January 4, Wednesday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
January 5, Thursday Spring semester begins
January 5-6, Thursday-Friday Orientation and advising
January 9, Monday Classes begin
January 16, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. state holiday; no classes
January 17, Tuesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class
January 18, Wednesday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement
January 23, Monday UNC census day
February 15, Wednesday Graduation Application Deadline – Spring 2017 – graduate students
February 24, Friday Last day to withdraw with a W – undergraduate students
March 3-6, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
March 4, Saturday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
March 4-12, Saturday-Sunday Spring Break; no classes
March 12, Sunday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
March 13, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
March 30, Thursday Last day to withdraw with a W - graduate students
April 5, Wednesday Spring Faculty meeting
April 11, Tuesday Graduation Application Deadline – Summer 2017 and Fall 2017 – undergraduate students
April 13, Thursday No classes
April 14, Friday Good Friday state holiday; no classes
April 17, Monday Classes resume 8 a.m.
April 17, Monday Graduation Application Deadline – Summer 2017 – graduate students
April 26, Wednesday Last day of classes
April 27, Thursday Reading Day
April 28-29, Friday-Saturday Final Examinations
May 1-4, Monday-Thursday Final Examinations
May 4, Thursday Spring semester ends
May 5-6, Friday-Saturday Commencement
May 6, Saturday Academic year ends
May 7, Sunday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.
   

Summer Session I, 2017

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

May 12, Friday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
May 15-16, Monday-Tuesday Transfer orientation and advising
May 17, Wednesday Classes begin
May 18, Thursday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
May 18, Thursday UNC census day
May 19, Friday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement.
May 29, Monday Memorial Day state holiday; no classes
June 1, Thursday Last day to withdraw with W – undergraduate students
June 2-5, Friday-Monday IT Maintenance Weekend (Friday 5 p.m. - Monday 8 a.m.)
June 8, Thursday Last day to withdraw with W – graduate students
June 15, Thursday Last day of classes
June 19, Monday Reading Day
June 20, Tuesday Final examinations/Term ends
June 21, Wednesday On-campus housing closes 10 a.m.


Summer Session II, 2017

Registration and SeaNet dates – Please refer to the Calendar of Events at www.uncw.edu/reg

June 23, Friday On-campus housing opens 10 a.m.
June 26, Monday Classes begin
June 27, Tuesday Last day for registration/Last day to drop (without a grade) or add a class.
June 27, Tuesday UNC census day
June 28, Wednesday Late Registration Fee for Reinstatement.
July 4, Tuesday Independence Day state holiday; no classes
July 5, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with W – undergraduate students
July 14, Friday Last day to withdraw with W – graduate students
July 25, Tuesday Last day of classes
July 26, Wednesday Reading Day
July 27, Thursday Final examinations/Term ends
July 28, Friday On-campus Housing closes at 10 a.m.